Gratitude for all that matters

I used to have a blog a few years ago. But I didn’t post new writing as regularly as I should have. So here’s to a fresh start. I intend to update this blog regularly with my reflections and musings on anything and everything that moves me to write. My life is steeped in cinema, media, theater, music and everything else to do with popular (and unpopular) culture, freedom and expression. I have a lot of opinions on a lot of issues, so stay tuned!

In India, we have a tradition of praying to God before starting any new venture. I am not much of a believer in organized religion. But I do believe in the power of goodness. I believe in being kind, honest, and a carrier of positive energy. I believe we are all connected and we get back as much positivity as we invest in everything around us, and that is what gives me the courage and strength to keep going. Gratitude forms a major part of my personal religion. Being grateful makes me humble and makes me work harder to retain all the good things in my life. In turn, I end up projecting more positivity. See how that works!

Being grateful doesn’t always mean recognizing the fact that you have more than others do. Yes, at times when you are in an especially whiny mood, it’s good to remind yourself that many others have it much worse. But being grateful is also just about being content in the moment, not comparing your life to others, rather assessing how much you have grown through various experiences. Nobody’s life is perfect, but we are all blessed with the power to make our lives worthwhile. I may not have everything I want, but I have so much more than I did a few years ago. And the fact that I have worked very hard to achieve it is most fulfilling and gratifying.

I don’t travel much but I live in the most beautiful city in the United States. Even a walk to the grocery store is pleasurable in Seattle. I am grateful for that. I feel grateful when I get to the bus stop just as the bus pulls in. I feel grateful that I can afford good, clean food. I feel grateful that my husband can always make me laugh. I feel grateful that my cat makes me smile by simply being  fuzzy and goofy. I know I am not propounding any groundbreaking philosophy here but I never take anything for granted. It’s very important to count our blessings in a world that seems to be crumbling around us.

The little things certainly matter the most. If we keep up a favorable attitude, we can change things that are undesirable, within and outside ourselves. And with this positive creative energy projected out into the world, I thus begin my journey of self-expression.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude for all that matters

Leave a Reply

